Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) helps very young children acquire the skills they will need to learn at school and beyond. It encourages learning through indoor and outdoor play, discovery and other activities that stimulate and entertain each child.

At The Collett School, we use the EYFS framework to plan for the learning and healthy development of each child in Reception, though also use the principles to guide our teaching across the school. Pupils focus on developing independent skills with a personalised approach, taking into account every child’s starting point. In the Early Years, we teach children important life skills such as: using the toilet, hand washing, getting dressed/undressed, and using cutlery at meal times. We engage children in reading, communication and interacting with others and the world around us.

The EYFS has seven areas of learning and development. These are divided into three prime areas and four specific areas.

The three prime areas are the most crucial for a child’s healthy development.

1. Communication & Language Development
This involves giving children opportunities to speak and listen in a range of situations and to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves.

2. Personal, Social & Emotional Development
This involves helping children to:
* develop a positive sense of themselves and others
* form positive relationships and develop respect for others
* develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings
* understand appropriate behaviour in groups
* have confidence in their own abilities

3. Physical Development
This involves providing opportunities for children to be active and interactive, and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.

The four specific areas detail the important skills your child will need to develop. They are:

1. Literacy
This involves encouraging children to read and write, both through listening to others reading, and being encouraged to begin to read and write themselves. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials such as books, poems, and other written materials to ignite their interest.

2. Mathematics
This involves providing children with opportunities to practise and improve their skills in counting numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems and, describe shapes, spaces, and measures

3. Understanding of the World
This involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

4. Expressing Arts & Design
This involves supporting children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials. It involves providing children with opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play, and design and technology.